Why Chill?

When it’s been one of those extremely hellish weeks, it’s essential for me to have some ‘chill time’. Testing weeks are always like this for me, and considering they happen just about every two weeks, I am officially a connoisseur at chilling.

Now of course there are the methods of counting to ten and taking deep long breaths- and then there are the ways that are more realistic, and work better for some people. I don’t know about anyone else out there, but inhaling deep breaths just makes me panic even more.  So instead of hyperventilating I try other things such as…

-Creating a tranquil playlist of relaxing songs on my Zune, and listening to it on repeat.

-Writing poetry. Especially because it’s generally something I do in my down time. It changes your entire mindset.

-I know that this is promoting consumerism, but going online shopping is incredible. Just finding little things that you could never buy in a store lift the spirits so high. Especially if it’s not co$tly

-Reading takes you from one place to another, so it’s a temporary escape. Certainly useful for taking one’s mind off of petty things.

-Venting lifts the load off swiftly. Doing it with friends on the phone…on a blog…or to a stranger (beware)…parents (also beware), and the like.

-Walking/Driving. This doesn’t seem like it works, but it does. Just a walk around the block or a drive to a nearby hangspot works out too. It let’s you inhale the sugary, warm air for a while instead of being blocked inside with a surplus of negative emotions.

I have learned the hard way that it is lethal to let stresses stagnate, because they never really do. Right when you have the right amount of them, this crazy sort of chemical reaction begins. It starts to fizz a little, like a freshly opened Pepsi. Then one day out of nowhere, like a shaken tonic, it just bursts everywhere and makes everything all sticky. 😦

But that easy to avoid by just finding any kind of chill technique that helps (Just not killing people or anything). I wonder, what other techniques are out there?  

3 Comments

  1. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble, Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea..
    – Psalms 46:1-2

  2. Yep. Never pent up the stress. I always seem to take things very lightly. Sometimes this can be very dangerous; but that’s my way of saying: “What else can go wrong?” That’s probably why I’m able to get over any bad situation quickly. Most of the times, the only stress that I endure is the stress that comes out of boredom. 🙂

    For me, there are:

    * Meditation

    * Playing outside

    * Meet up with friends (if not, at least have a long conversation with a good friend)

    * Music always helps. I find Rock music to work best for me; the likes of Evanescence, Nickelback, LinkinPark, and others.

    * Sleeping! Trust me this is the best thing to do for stress at work. Sleep for 14 hours at a stretch and it works wonder. (Apart from making you more drowsy!) I never knew I could do it until recently! 😛

    * The stress is usually reduced when you have a sibling to fight around with. I keep shouting at my sister and irritate her. A very good way of releasing stress! But mind you, that comes with a price; you may have to treat them before they cool down. 😀

    * Watch TV. You don’t exactly watch TV, but keep flipping through the channels. And choose the most unlikely channel you’d ever watch. Like cartoons! 🙂 Or watch news, the world has people dying when we are actually worried about something so small and silly.

    * Get StumbleUpon!

    Wow! I can keep going on forever. No wonder I’m not really stressed much at any time. For instance, I have 2 tests tomorrow and I haven’t read a word; its 8.30 PM and I’m happily blogging! Lol!

    Good day!

  3. MMM, really good suggestions. I can’t believe I forgot about tv! It’s so good for getting off track. lol. All of those are really good. And OMG, sleep is absolutely crucial to LIFE. lol. I love it.

    And to Johnathan, yep yep. Religion is good to. I’m not necessarily a religious person but I am definately open minded and okay with it. Let’s just say I follow my own faith.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

