Why Prom?

I am very seriously considering the possibility of not going to Prom. I see no point in it. If it’s just like an ordinary dance, and I don’t like dances so much, then what would make it so different (other than the fact that it costs three times as much to go).
Besides actually going through the embarrassment of asking someone to go with me, I see nothing exciting about it. Now, I don’t want to be a complete pessimist, so I guess I’ll consider some reasons why it would be beneficial to go.

-Friends. If the people there are amazing, the party itself could be fun also. Considering everyone will be there, it can’t be too bad.

-Dates. As much as the date is a bad thing, it can also be a good thing. Now me personally, I’ve never asked a guy to anything and I’ve been asked a few times, but when I was asked I never enjoyed myself. My very first “dance date”, whose name started off as Aaron, came out of the closet two weeks after he took me to homecoming (At which he wore the most flamboyant suit). We’re still friends now, but that was possibly the most awkward thing of freshman year.

-After-Parties! This is the main thing that makes me even consider going. I could get a ride to the after parties with my friends. Dances aren’t my thing, but after-parties are completely different. Not to mention it would only be my second limo ride in LIFE (my first being this year).

-The Rebellion. Okay, so this isn’t on most people’s agendas, but whenever my friends and I go to a dance…or whenever my friends drag me to a dance, we do something completely spontaneous, stupid and uncalled for. The last dance (winter dance) it was between a séance in the cemetery and to go see a movie. We ended up seeing a movie during the dance and never really going to the dance. Pity.

So those are the good reasons to go, and the more I think about that last one, the more I’m considering “Yes”. But I’m still unsure. I think the good outweigh the bad in this little scenario.

But then there’s the thought that NOT going would be SO much more fun.  

What should I do?!?!?!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Socializing with good company is never a bad thing. Besides, making new friends can be exciting too. If you are really concerned about the safety of such an event or the after-events, then you must considering not going. Otherwise, I guess, you could have a good time there. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

